Posted in 3 word Wednesday, haiku, poem

The occassion

a haiku:

Gala occasion
kind souls get together
a bliss in a blink

and a poem:

“You are invited to our land,
On the occasion of the grand
Celebration of birthday
of our Queen Mother”, she said.

She could only hear that voice
so sweet like summer rain
Oh she was deprived of the joy
of seeing that beautiful face.

Something touched her softly
oh now she could see so clearly
small fairies, medium and big
dancing all around flowers sweet.

The Queen Mother’s face was kind
she softly placed her soft hand
on the brow of the blind child
in a blink sight came back to her eyes.

“Your voice is sweeter than us child,
so many times we heard you sing
your songs fill up our resting hours
as you play and sing beside the brook.”

“Its nothing at all that I gave you,
the power to see this world pretty
the land in which you take us every day
is oh so much more pretty!”

Just like a sigh in summer night
they disappeared in river mist
she saw, yes she saw she was sitting alone
as the river rippled and smiled sweet.

Each week, I post three words. You write something using the words.
Then come back and post a link to the contribution with Mr. Linky (but please, link to the exact post, not your blog). As always, there’s no hard-and-fast rule that you have to post on Wednesday.

But I invite everyone to check back often to read and comment on other contributions. This is, after all, a community for writers who clamor for feedback

This week’s words:
Blink; verb: to open and close the eye, especially involuntarily; wink rapidly and repeatedly.

Kind; adjective: of a good or benevolent nature or disposition.

Occasion; noun: a particular time, especially as marked by certain circumstances or occurrences.

http://www.threewordwednesday.com/

sharmishtha basu
17.1.11

Author:

A bookworm transformed into an addicted writer. I love to write and illustrate them myself. By love I mean love, no half-hearted relationship, a full-fledged, passionate love, I can’t pass two days in a stretch without writing/painting (cyber), just feel empty like lovers do when their lovers are away on a tour! Even though I am thoroughly enjoying self-publishing with amazon, but if you like my work and want to publish my works in your magazine, books or better if you want to publish a book of my works please make me very happy by contacting me. Or if you want to sell my works on commission basis only!! contact me, I will be quite relieved. Honestly writing and selling your own work is a very BORING combination. So you are more than welcome! Mail me @sharmishthabasu@hotmail.com, sermistabasu@gmail.com or go to- my blog (I have 16 blogs in wordpress, all active, some on daily basis, every one on weekly basis screaming and vowing my LOVE for writing and painting- this one is first-born, so special) mydomainpvt.wordpress.com (You will get the link to my remaining blogs there) or you can check out my ezines- monthly- Agnishatdalezine.wordpress.com And Agnijaat.wordpress.com if you want fb you can go to my page facebook.com/sermistabasu, linkedin- linkedin.com/authorsharmishthabasu my email id sharmishthabasu@hotmail.com and sermistabasu@gmail.com I am in goodreads and completelynovel too http://www.goodreads.com/sharmishthabasu http://completelynovel.com/sharmishtha-basu http://amazon.com/author/sharmishthabasu I guess I said enough about myself, right? You will forget if I stuff too much here, so if you are curious to know this humble creature just join me in my blogs :)

36 thoughts on “The occassion

    1. you can try it, i think it will suit your talent- its not a new blog, there is a huuuuuuuuuuge group of members there 🙂

      i stumbled into it looking for haiku blogs. there are lot of us who write there nanka, nimue and i noted a few more names too.

      thanks for liking the poems. i mean it (my muse is sulking).

  1. Nice of you to explain to Victoria, would be great to see her there 🙂
    Loved your festive Haiku, and I love all that comes along with it!! …but get tired out by the time it ends 😦
    Your narrative poem was excellent and had so much of charm, grace and innocence!! Loved it immensely!!

    1. Yes, the period after festivals is exhausting to the power n….

      phew!

      thanks for liking these clumsy poems, i have been bowled over by the talent of the participants of 3WW.

  2. Both are great, but the phrase “a bliss in a blink” made me smile broadly. I loved that turn of phrase. Also the Queen Mum references were very sweet.

    Thanks for visiting me, and I will be back. Have really latched on to both 3WW and ABC Weds., so those two will sometimes merge for me.

    See you – and peace, Amy Barlow Liberatore

  3. lovely poems both of them I love the Haiku . I love when few words paint a great image and i think this haiku does it in a very powerful way.

  4. Oh that second one was, well, let’s just say it brought a smile to my face and I felt I was a child again reading those books that left one with wonder. Beautifully, gorgeously done.

    Thank you so much for stopping by my little corner of the world and leaving your kind comment. It meant much. Thank you. 🙂

  5. We’ve been around for quite some time and I took over as administrator at prompt 75. Welcome to 3WW and thanks for helping to build this community. I very much appreciated both poems.

I LOVE TO READ AND RETURN COMMENTS. SOME OF MY READERS DONT LEAVE URL, IF THEY START LEAVING URL I WILL JUST LOVE TO READ THEIR WORKS TOO.