when the clouds dance poem 4

book 18

Every day we used to see her
sitting under the same tree,
her clothes in rags
eyes sunk deep.

Someone told me her story,
a small town girl,
ran away with her lover,
and reached the town.

Her lover left her here,
promised he will be back,
months have passed since
he just failed to show up.

No one can convince her,
he is gone, will not be back,
so they keep an eye on her,
and try to help her.

One day I saw her lying there,
locals said she was ebbing away.
Tears came to my eyes,
then I saw a miracle.

A taxicab stopped there,
a man and a woman came down,
The woman hugged the girl, her daughter,
all three of them left for home.

8.10.09, Garia, Kolkata

https://www.createspace.com/5561447
https://www.amazon.com/dp/b0105j2jko

6 thoughts on “when the clouds dance poem 4

    • it is inspired by a movie I saw as a child, in that the woman grows old and dies under the tree but her lover never comes back, so…. I don’t remember why he disappeared, I remember the last scene of the movie most 😦

I LOVE TO READ AND RETURN COMMENTS. SOME OF MY READERS DONT LEAVE URL, IF THEY START LEAVING URL I WILL JUST LOVE TO READ THEIR WORKS TOO.

